Using AVRcam hardware with ov7620

This forum is used for discussing hardware, software, and technical details of the AVRcam embedded system.

Using AVRcam hardware with ov7620

Postby tlclotus » Sat Dec 04, 2004 12:27 pm

Thank you very much for open source releasing the details of AVRcam.

I am studying the documentation to determine if the hardwave will support my existing ov7620 prior to purchasing the hardware.

It is truly a joy to read properly written and documentated source code.
tlclotus

Postby Guest » Sun Dec 05, 2004 4:39 pm

Hello,
When I first started working on the AVRcam about nine months ago, I was planning on using the OV7620 since I really wanted to be able to view the NTSC output from that camera. I was planning on having to play some subsampling games with the data, since VGA was far more data than I wanted to have to process with the AVRcam. At this point, I hadn't stumbled on to the idea of clocking the AVR and the camera with the same clock source to provide the synchrnonization that I needed. As soon as I realized that this was the way to go, the 27 MHz crystal that is part of the common OV7620-based camera board was going to be too fast for the AVR to keep up. So I gave up on the NTSC output and switched to the OV6620, which uses the 17.7 MHz clock that could be used to clock the AVR directly, and thus provide this synchronization that is needed to make the system work.